The School of Nursing was first established as a Post Basic Nursing institution in 1963 as a World Health Organisation (WHO) project at request of the Ministry of Health. It then focused on preparation of Diploma awarded Nurse Tutors for basic nursing training institutions. In 1980, the degree programme began and the designation of the Post-Basic Nursing Department changed to Department of Nursing with a wholly Ghanaian staff and placed under both the Faculties of Science and Social Studies. In 2003 the Department was upgraded into a School and made a constituent of the College of Health Sciences with five departments: mental health, community health, maternal and child health, adult health and research, education and administration. The graduate programme began as a collaboration between the School and its counterpart at the University of Alberta, Canada in 2000. Beginning from the 2010/2011 Academic Year, the School has introduced specialty options into its BSc programme.

The mission of the School of Nursing is to develop well-educated and competent nurses who will provide quality service to individuals, families and communities, and generate nursing knowledge through research to improve nursing practice.

Our vision is to be the first choice in the West African sub-region in terms of quality of staff, variety and levels of programme offered aimed at bringing good health and happiness to people.