The School of Nursing was first established as a Post Basic Nursing institution in 1963 as a World Health Organisation (WHO) project at request of the Ministry of Health. It then focused on preparation of Diploma awarded Nurse Tutors for basic nursing training institutions. Further the School also focused on certificate courses in Nursing Management in July 1970 and diploma courses in Nursing Service Administration in 1971.

In 1980, the degree programme began and the designation of the Post-Basic Nursing Department changed to Department of Nursing with a wholly Ghanaian staff and placed under both the Faculties of Science and Social Studies. In July 15, 2003, the Department was upgraded into a School and made a constituent of the College of Health Sciences by the University Council. The School was departmentalised into only (5) five units:

Mental Health Nursing

Community Health Nursing

Maternal and Child Health Nursing

Adult Health Nursing

Research, Education and Administration.


The graduate programme began as a collaboration between the School and its counterpart at the University of Alberta, Canada in 2000.

Master of Philosopy (MPhil) – 2000

Master of Science (MSc) – 2005


Beginning from the 2010/2011 Academic Year, the School has introduced specialty options into its BSc programme. The School’s name was changed to School of Nursing and Midwifery (SONM) in the 2016/2017 academic year with the establishment of five academic departments and these include:

Department of Mental Health Nursing

Department of Community Health Nursing

Department of Maternal and Child Health Nursing

Department of Adult Health Nursing

Department of Research, Education and Administration.


Past Heads

Dr. Rae Chittick                                        -              (1963 – 1969)

Ms. Ayodele Akiwumi                               -              (1969 – June, 1981)

                                                                -              (Dec, 1981 – Sept, 1985)

                                                                -              (Oct, 1988 – Sept, 1991)

                                                                -              (Oct, 1993 – Sept, 1995)

Mrs. Margaret Osei-Boateng                     -              (June – Dec, 1981)

                                                                -              (Oct, 1985 – Sept, 1988)

                                                                -              (Oct, 1991 – Sept, 1993)

                                                                -              (Oct, 1995 – Sept, 1996)

Joana Larteley Laryea                                -              (1997 – 1999)

Ms. Bernice Goka                                      -              (1999)


Past Deans        

Dr. Mary Opare                                         -              (1999 – 2006)

Prof. Onike P. Rodrigues                           -              (2006 – 2009)

Prof. Ernestina S. Donkor                          -              (2009 – 2017)